The End of Plastic-Free July

Week 2 rubbish

KimmieAB’s Waste from the 2nd Week of July

I did not do as well as I could have with plastic in July… but just because July is over, doesn’t mean I have to use plastic in excess and stop thinking about the environment.

Week 3 July

KimmieAB’s Waste from the 3rd Week of July

I will continue to do my part, and one day, hopefully soon, I will have a plastic free month, and then another and then another … That is the short term goal.

I feel the long term goal is to impact the world, not over-night and perhaps not even so that anyone outside my household even knows I have made a difference, but impact the world I will. I feel that even in three short years the world and South Africa have seen a change in people’s attitude toward plastic. There are 100s more people attempting to live a zero-waste life style now than three years ago. People are starting to act more and more.

However, my month was not a waste, because I have been collecting (hording) my waste, I have become increasingly aware how many till slips I have received. To be honest I don’t know if this is something that we will be able to completely avoid, but I would love to see stores print till slips on slightly smaller pieces of paper. More importantly I would like to see stores going back to paper rather than smooth plastic coated paper.

I am also aware of how much ‘shopping’ I do. For me, I feel that being a conscious consumer and a wanna-be-minimalist, I should be shopping less, finishing up what I have already got.

I don’t do that much shopping, my slips are mostly from food purchases, but I feel that if I planned better and I finished what I already owned before going and buying more ingredients or meals I would not only be saving money, but I would be saving time and resources. So perhaps this should be my challenge for August, less purchases, an emptier pantry and fridge, less slips, less plastic.

img_20180723_161307.jpg

Amazing Homemade Yoghurt

One way I did limit my purchases and use up what I had was by making homemade yoghurt. My first attempt at making yoghurt wasn’t an absolute flop, but it wasn’t perfect. It was basically drinking yoghurt. After a bit of research, I think it might be that my temperatures weren’t correct or I didn’t let it sit long enough. My second attempt was fantastic! I tried to correct my temperature problems and I left it to sit for about 12 hours. I was incredibly impressed with myself. Homemade yoghurt is defiantly something I will be making again in the future.

Apple Cider Vinegar

Homemade Apple Cider Vinegar

I also started my first batch of apple cider vinegar. It will take another 6 weeks to see if it is a success or not, I will keep you posted.

How did your plastic-free July go? Were you able to make any changes that you are wanting to keep up in the future?

Leave a comment